4 kinds of succession

The following are four (4) kinds of succession under Philippine succession law.

[1] Testamentary succession is that which results from the designation of an heir, made in a will executed in the form prescribed by law. It is also called testate succession. (Article 779 of the Civil Code)
[2] Legal succession is that which takes place by operation of law in the absence of a valid will. It is also called intestate succession.
[3] Mixed succession is that which is effected partly by will and partly by operation of law. This occurs, for example, when the testator fails to dispose of all his property in his will; over that portion undistributed by will, legal or intestate succession shall operate. (Article 780 of the Civil Code)
[4] Compulsory succession is one referring to the legitime and prevails over all other kinds of succession.